Political Highlights

Japan is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary government. The Emperor does not have any political power and is chiefly the symbol of the state. The Japanese Parliament is called the Diet. It consists of the House of Representatives (480 seats) and the House of Councillors (242 seats). The Cabinet is headed by the Prime Minister, who appoints its members. These are usually members of the Diet, which in turn elect the Prime Minister. Elections for the House of Representatives are held every four years, and half of the House of Councillors is elected every three years. In addition to national elections, prefectural and municipal elections are also held.

Japan Guide, Government

Table of Contents

  • Government
  • EU-Japan Summits
  • EU-Japan Economic Partnership Agreement
  • Other Agreements
  • Further Reading
  • Relevant Organisations